Single: OSBS (On Some BullShit) – “It’s a Struggle” (Remix) ft. Big U

The Duo of D5 and Smoke Revisit an Earlier Single with Some Words of Wisdom From Their Uneek Music Label Head


Critical Praise for OSBS:

“Effortlessly catchy…OSBS (which stands for, naturally, On Some Bullshit) have been scooping quick hype this year. Equal parts Atlanta trap, West Coast bravado, and Toronto swang (read: Drake), it’s not hard to see why. They speak effortlessly to the moment, something of a perhaps even more radio-ready SOB x RBE.”The 405

The Single:

Bringing a fresh spin to a classic West Coast sound, thesoulfully melodic rap music of Los Angeles duo OSBS (On Some Bullshit) caught the ears of influential L.A. music business figure Big U. Rewarding their label benefactor’s faith, the duo show off their skills on the soul-sampling “It’s a Struggle” (Remix). Buoyed by a passionate hook from Smoke, the two rappers swap stories about their troubles above a minor-key chipmunk soul sample, with D5 lamenting the lost life of a close friend in a liquor store shooting, and Smoke reflecting on his time in prison away from his daughter and baby momma. Premiered by Dirty-Glove Bastard, the remix to “It’s a Struggle” adds some words of wisdom from Big U, who relates a story about gang violence in 1980s L.A. “It’s a Struggle” (Remix) is a highlight from No Cap, the OSBS duo’s upcoming EP.

Preparing a batch of radio-ready heaters, the duo of Smoke and D5 recently announced No Cap, their debut EP. Unbound by region or style, the strength of OSBS (short for “On Some Bullshit”) is in the chemistry of the two members and their complementary approaches to the mic. Smoke’s drawl occupies a space between singing and rapping, stretching syllables in unpredictable ways to craft hooks, while D5 rhymes in an auto-tuned monotone, locking into airtight cadences and expertly navigating negative space. On No Cap EP, Crenshaw duo creates their own melting pot of rap styles, taking elements of L.A. rider music and ATL trap and creating a fiery brand of party music. Last week, the duo shared the soaring video single I Know,” which featured a highlight guest spot from 2 Chainz. Featuring additional appearances from Lil Baby, Gunna, and Lil XanNo Cap EP arrives on November 16th via Uneek/EMPIRE.

With a co-sign from legendary behind-the-scenes West Coast figure Big U, OSBS (short for On Some Bullsh¡t” aims to redefine the sound of party music in Los Angeles and beyond. Known for developing the careers of artists like Nipsey Hussle, Kurupt, and James Fauntelroy, Big U fostered the partnership of D5 and Smoke, connecting the two of them after Smoke’s release from prison. Shortly after his release, Smoke joined D5 and Big U in the studio to record “Everybody Baby Momma,” the duo’s raucous debut single. When D5 heard the finished product, he turned to U and Smoke and said, “y’all on some bullshit”–giving the duo a new name. “Our whole purpose is to show people that there’s a different way you can do things,” explains Smoke. “Your past does not have to dictate your future. We’re the ones that people counted out and wrote off.” With recent social media shoutouts from Justin Bieber and Kourtney Kardashian, OSBS are well on their way to becoming the soundtrack of choice for the City of Stars.

Listen to “It’s a Struggle” (Remix) ft. Big U:

Check out the DGB premiere:

No Cap EP tracklist:

1.  No Cap (feat. Gunna)
2.  2 Hoes
3.  I Know (feat. 2 Chainz)
4.  Fall Back (feat. Lil Baby)
5.  It’s a Struggle (Remix) (feat. Big U)
6.  Hold Me Down
7.  Everybody Baby Momma
8.  Stripper Hoes
9.  Lay Up
10. Come Over
11. Osb Anthem (feat. Lil Xan)

Please contact Michelle for more info.

The Background:

From Los Angeles’ Crenshaw neighborhood, OSBS represents new energy and diversified sound for South Central. The “On Sum Bull Sh%t” duo of Smoke (Jordan Gendron) and D5 (Darral Scott) had long been in the same circle. “We’re all connected because of Lil U, who is one of my best friends. He’s Big U’s son and D5’s cousin. He’s how we all linked,” explains Smoke, recalling shooting hoops at nearby Ladera Park. Big U is an L.A. street legend and proven music executive with a pivotal role in the careers of Nipsey Hussle, Kurupt, and others. With D5 previously on his Uneek Music, Big U liked the chemistry of two rappers from his neighborhood. “Our whole purpose is to show people that there’s a different way you can do things. Your past does not have to dictate your future. We’re the ones that people counted out and wrote off,” explains Smoke. That sentiment drives November 16’s No Cap. The group’s debut EP from Uneek/EMPIRE features 2 Chainz, Lil Baby, Gunna, and Lil Xan.

twitter | soundcloud | instagram

“It’s a Struggle” (Remix) ft. Big U:

“I Know” ft. 2 Chainz:

“Everybody Baby Momma”: