our work  


press releases  

our team  

Video: Rexx Life Raj – “Never Had Shit”

The Introspective Rapper Examines the Effects of a Life of Crime in the Video for the Father Figure 2: Flourish Highlight


Critical Praise:

“[Rexx Life Raj] is for anyone who likes breathing and/or good music”Noisey

“Rexx Life Raj is one of the most impressive young MC’s in the industry right now.”XXL 

“But while many of these artists channel a revivalism — Cash Money energy for Nef, g-funk for Kamaiyah — Rexx Life Raj is content to push forward confidently into the unknown.” Mass Appeal

“Rexx Life Raj (yeah, it’s a mouthful) is the up-and-coming Bay Area artist to know.” SF Weekly

“Trivial daily details get painted with a generous eye and addressed in smooth tones on songs that feel like falling into a pile of pillows. Raj is perceptive, empathetic, and open about his feelings; he’s also quick to tackle the tropes of contemporary rap with a winking eye.” – Noisey

The Video:

Using his expressive pen and silky vocals to explore inward and comment on society, Rexx Life Raj seeks to provoke thought with his music. On the guitar-led Never Had Shit,” Raj opens up about his personal evolution, from admiring those who’ve survived life in the streets to understanding life’s serious consequences. In the video, Raj contemplates accompanying his friends in a robbery, giving into the temptation of fast money. “Never Had Shit” is the first half of “Never Had Shit/Feels,” a centerpiece of Father Figure 2: Flourish, Raj’s acclaimed 2017 album.

Earning praise from critics and fellow artists such as Nef The Pharaoh, Scott Storch, and Pharrell Williams, who joined Raj onstage at ComplexCon, Rexx Life Raj is one of the most exciting new artists in the Bay Area. Since 2016, he earned glowing press coverage from Billboard, Pigeons & Planes, Pitchfork, Noisey, and XXL, and earned the cover spot on Spotify’s Mellow Bars playlist with his single “Handheld GPS,” which earned over 4 million streams on the service, as well as over 20 million streams on all platforms. A former football player at D1 powerhouse Boise State University, Rexx Life Raj’s Father Figure 2: Flourish, distributed by EMPIRE, was another level up in the young rapper’s career, featuring singles such as Forever Lit” ft. G-Eazy, “Burn Baby Burn,” featuring Russ,” and “Where I Belong,” which was recently the subject of a Genius explainer. Stay tuned in 2018 for much more great music from the young rapper and Instagram caption god.

Watch “Never Had Shit”: https://youtu.be/hQ7xsOHbu2Q
Listen to Father Figure 2: Flourishhttps://soundcloud.com/rexxliferaj/sets/father-figure-2-flourish// https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/rexx-life-raj/id887653264

Father Figure 2: Flourish tracklist:

  1. 2Free [prod. Mikos Da Gawd]
  2. Where I Belong [prod. JULiA LEWiS]
  3. Level Up [prod. Kyle Betty, Drew Banga & DTB]
  4. Lowkey Lovesong (feat. Iman Europe) [prod. JULiA LEWiS]
  5. Paradise [prod. Ian McKee]
  6. Never Had Shit/ Feels [prod. Mike Gao / Kyle Betty]
  7. Fiji [prod. Kyle Betty]
  8. More Than Enough [Prod. Kyle Betty, Drew Banga & Wax Roof]
  9. Neighborhood Dopeman [prod. Kyle Betty]
  10. Forever Lit (feat. G-Eazy) [prod. JULiA LEWiS & Mikos Da Gawd]
  11. The Otherside [prod. Jon Brooks]
  12. More Love [prod. Ian McKee]
  13. Not My friend [prod. Cisco Cortez, Mr. Carmack, Ian McKee, Wax Roof & Mikos Da Gawd]
  14. Ventilation pt. 3 [prod. ian mcKee & kev choice]
  15. Burn Baby Burn (feat. Russ) [prod. Cisco Cortez & Evan Ma]

Please contact Michelle or Isabel for more info.

The Background:
Rexx Life Raj:

From the land of the Hyphy where slaps are king and going dumb is encouraged, Berkeley, California’s Rexx Life Raj stands out by making music for the brain and the heart that’s still pleasant to the ears. Raised by a God-fearing mother and Black Panther father in the mecca of progressive politics, Raj’s music uniquely illustrates his awareness of being a young, black male while also maintaining a sense of humor and joie de vivre.

EMPIRE Background:

EMPIRE was founded in 2010 as an artist-friendly, progressive digital distribution company. After early success, and identifying future icons such as Kendrick Lamar, Sage The Gemini, and Rich Homie Quan, EMPIRE was quickly regarded as a tastemaker in the industry and throughout the past five years evolved into a full-fledged record label, distributor and publisher for independent musicians. With the company and roster growing at a breakneck pace, EMPIRE has effectively disrupted a stale business model by bringing its energy, expertise, and acumen to its artists and labels. Given its reputation, EMPIRE works with today’s hottest talent from superstars such as T.I. and red-hot newcomers such as Anderson .Paak. While remaining 100% independent, EMPIRE has also partnered with Atlantic Records for a joint venture, home to breakout star D.R.A.M. and joined forces with Republic Records for the release of Sage The Gemini’s Remember Me album.

facebook| twitter | instagramyoutube | Soundcloud

“Never Had Shit”: https://youtu.be/hQ7xsOHbu2Q

“Level Up”: https://youtu.be/RfN7djUdFFY

Father Figure 2: Flourishhttps://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/rexx-life-raj/id887653264

“Forever Lit” ft. G-Eazy: https://soundcloud.com/rexxliferaj/forever-lit-feat-g-eazy-prod-by-julia-lewis-mikos-da-gawd

“Where I Belong”: https://youtu.be/Qse5HH30eME // https://soundcloud.com/rexxliferaj/where-i-belong-prod-by-julia-lewis/

“Burn Baby Burn” ft. Russ: https://soundcloud.com/rexxliferaj/burn-baby-burn-feat-russ-prod-by-cisco-cortez

“2Free”: https://youtu.be/8xr-RWubzIc // https://soundcloud.com/rexxliferaj/2free-prod-by-mikos-da-gawd

“Freedom Love” ft. Goapele (Prod. Kyle Betty): https://soundcloud.com/rexxliferaj/freedom-love-feat-goapele-prod-by-kyle-betty

“IDFWYN”: https://soundcloud.com/rexxliferaj/idfwyn-prod-by-kyle-betty

“Handheld GPS”: https://youtu.be/4CsOMbhDzQs // https://soundcloud.com/rexxliferaj/handheld-gps-prod-julia-lewis

Father Figure: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/father-figure/id1115464867&app=itunes

Listen to “On Ice” ft. ymtk (Prod. by Mikos Da Gawd, Ian McKee, and Ekzakt): https://soundcloud.com/rexxliferaj/on-ice-feat-ymtk-prod-by-mikos-da-gawd-ekzakt-ian-mckee

“Young Wardell”: https://soundcloud.com/rexxliferaj/young-wardell-prod-by-ian-mckee

“Moxie Java” ft. Nef The Pharaoh: https://youtu.be/yQn4b9xUaeI

“Shit ‘N Floss”: https://soundcloud.com/rexxliferaj/shit-n-floss-prod-by-kyle-betty

“Yellow Brick Road”: https://soundcloud.com/rexxliferaj/yellow-brick-road-prod-rexxliferaj

Dreamland: Telegraph Avenuehttps://soundcloud.com/rexxliferaj/sets/rexx-life-raj-kyral-musik