Single: Jacka – “Take Over The World” ft. FedX

The Late Bay Area Legend Shares More Street Wisdom in the Latest Release From the Upcoming Murder Weapon Album

Critical Praise:

“Oakland rapper the Jacka’s new album suggests he should be recognized as one of the last decade’s strongest writers—both within and outside of hip-hop. He makes accessible music that could easily appeal to a wide audience, but What Happened to the World will most readily reach those who still value hip-hop as an art form of evocative lyricism.” – Pitchfork

“It was his talent for writing about the West Coast thug life with unflinching honesty, and a slightly wheezy, yet magnetic, voice, that made him a beloved artist.” – Rolling Stone

“Staunchly independent with commercial highlights in spite of that independence, The Jacka was regionally revered while remaining lightly indifferent to local trends. Throughout his voluminous discography, The Jacka regaled listeners with saccharine chorus hooks, while his wheezy yet stern flow dispatched nuanced, panoramic hustler scenes. Gangsta narratives were tempered by deep empathy — in this regard, The Jacka was an heir to 2Pac.” – East Bay Express

“One of the Bay Area’s most respected lyricists, The Jacka gave voice to the complexities and contradictions of following a spiritual path while doing what it took to survive.” – KQED

The Song:

Dearly missed by his close friends and hip-hop fans around the world, the Jacka had a special talent for mixing street savvy and spirituality. Take Over The World,” the California artist’s latest posthumous release, is an eerie and deeply moving ode to the grind.

Wielding a plainspoken flow atop glistening piano and dancing synth stabs, Jacka expounds upon his everlasting passion for hustling and explains what set him apart from his imitators: “I’m the Jack, I really live what rappers act like they seen/Been f*ckin’ up, parole violation, back to the bing/On my bunk, shakin’, tryna kick the smack from my veins/Heart racing, with dark thoughts crowdin’ my brain.” On his gently-sung hook, Jack manages to find peace, knowing that his loved ones will hold him down ’til the end of time: “They gon’ ask me where I’ve been/Even though I never left/They gon’ try to bring me down/’Til I take over the world with this.” Produced by brother-brother duo Don Juan Cartel & Rasun, “Take Over The World” features raw verse from Jacka’s Mob Figaz associate and longtime friend FedX.

“Take Over The World” is the latest single from Murder Weapon, the next posthumous release by the Jacka. he finished version of an album the Bay Area emcee was working on before his untimely passing, Murder Weapon fulfills the artist’s original vision, compiling dozens of unreleased verses and keeping the original instrumentals whenever possible. The upcoming album is a celebration of the Jacka’s life and career, completed by many of his artist friends and producers, including frequent collaborators like RobLo, Maki, DJ Child, Lev, and AK. Earlier this month, the Jacka’s presence returned with “Can’t Go Home,” a soulful collaboration with Freddie Gibbs, which earned coverage in PitchforkHotNewHipHop, and more.

A testament to the Jacka’s enduring legacy, the album features verses from Husalah, Rydah J. Klyde, FedX of the Mob Figaz, as well as appearances from a long list of hip-hop legends from all over the nation, including, Curren$y, Berner, Styles P, Paul Wall, Killah Priest, Cormega, and more. Coming at the end of Jack History MonthMurder Weapon releases on February 28th via The Artist Records / EMPIRE.

Buy/Stream “Take Over The World” ft. FedX: https://Empire.lnk.to/TOTW

Pre-order Murder Weapon: https://empire.lnk.to/MurderWeapon

Check out a wide-ranging retrospective on The Jacka’s life and legacy at KQED

Murder Weapon Tracklist:
1. Intro (feat. Husalah)
2. Walk Away (feat. Styles P)
3. Take Over the World (feat. Fed-X)
4. Not Dead (feat. Rydah J. Klyde & Husalah)
5. Live It Up (feat. Curren$y & Berner)
6. Can’t Go Home (feat. Freddie Gibbs)
7. Never Worked
8. Ancient Astronaut (feat. Killah Priest)
9. Cherish Me (feat. Dubb 20 & Street Knowledge)
10. We Outside
11. They Know What This Is (feat. Paul Wall & Boo Banga)
12. Too Real (feat. Cormega)
13. Ask God

Please contact Michelle or Erin for more info

The Jacka Background:

Shaheed Akbar, a.k.a. The Jacka (1977-2015), was a foundational figure in the Bay Area rap scene. A member of the legendary crew The Mob Figaz, he built a cult following in the Bay Area with releases such as The Jack Artist (2005) and Tear Gas (2009), which peaked at #93 on the Billboard 200. Known for his street wisdom and deep spirituality, The Jacka remained prolific throughout the 2010s, collaborating with the likes of FreewayBernerAndre Nickatina, and Ampichino on full-length albums, and releasing several acclaimed albums on his own. In 2015, The Jacka was assassinated by an unknown gunman, but his memory lives on through the love of his neighborhood and through the many tributes paid by his fellow rappers. Now, five years after his passing, The Jacka’s team will release Murder Weapon, a brand new album with appearances from the likes of Freddie Gibbs, Curren$y, Berner, and his Mob Figaz associates, due February 28th.

EMPIRE Background:

Founded in 2010 by San Francisco native Ghazi Shami, EMPIRE has experienced immense growth through their innovative approach to independent label, distribution and publishing services. With their focus on early stage artist development, the San Francisco based company has been instrumental in launching the careers of multi-platinum, Grammy Award winning artists such as Kendrick Lamar, Cardi B, DRAM and Anderson. Paak. In 2019, the independent EMPIRE continues to make a major impact, with smash hits and new music from Snoop Dogg, Iggy Azalea, XXXTentacion, Young Dolph, The Free Nationals, and more.

facebook | instagram | spotify

“Take Over The World” ft. FedX: https://Empire.lnk.to/TOTW

Pre-order Murder Weapon: https://empire.lnk.to/MurderWeapon

“Can’t Go Home” ft. Freddie Gibbs: spotify | apple